ithinkaboutwine

Blind tasting without tasting

In Uncategorized on February 5, 2014 at 11:26 am

Today I found a Court podcast, which is awesome because it means I can keep thinking about wine while I’m driving around town all day. The first episode I listened to was fascinating. Two Masters took turns blind tasting wines, but with a twist in the exercise. Rather than tasting the wines they were assessing, one would taste the wine and the other would ask questions. This freed the taster from the pressure of guessing what the wine was, and gave the person trying to guess the ability to approach his conclusion from a completely academic perspective.

This happens often to me during blind tasting: I try something and get an idea of what it is immediately from either the nose or the palate. That knee-jerk conclusion can be hard to shake off, and can prevent me from thoroughly and accurately interpreting my own perception of the wine. By undertaking this exercise, one is able to look at just the raw data and hopefully reach a more objective conclusion. This is definitely an exercise I will work into my blind tasting practice.

***

By request, here is a link to the podcast. http://guildpodcast.com/

  1. What kind of questions did they ask? Can you link to the podcast? This would be an invaluable technique for beer as well.

    • They basically asked all the same questions you’re supposed to ask yourself while blind tasting, but the process allowed the Master assessing the wine to examine the information more as pure data. I’ll add a link.

Leave a Reply

