ithinkaboutwine

Why must it be so difficult to find good wine maps?

In Uncategorized on May 15, 2012 at 8:42 pm

I’ll admit it right up front, I’m writing this post in the hopes that somebody who knows of some magical repository of helpful and accurate wine maps on the internet will hear my cry and point me in the direction of the aforementioned maps. I mean, especially when we’re talking about domestic wine regions where I know for a fact that there is a tourism board, why is this so difficult to find? Am I really such a geek that I’m looking for information that nobody else is interested in? In this case, I’m looking for a map of Sonoma. And yes, I found this one, which is one of the more useful I’ve seen, but unfortunately it does not include the 2 newest AVAs in Sonoma, Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak and Fort Ross-Seaview, which is what I’m trying to study for. With some digging I was able to basically locate them, but still, I’d love to see the actual map. Fort Ross-Seaview is inside the Sonoma Coast AVA, basically due west of Healdsburg. The Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak AVA is basically up the mountain from Alexander Valley AVA, and extends north into Mendocino County.

Leave a Reply

