California: North Coast (Study post for nerds.)

In Uncategorized on May 15, 2012 at 9:54 pm

California’s North Coast AVA is the epicenter of California winemaking, being adjacent to one of the State’s largest markets, and containing Napa, Sonoma, and Mendocino County AVAs, the North Coast produces some of the most sought-after wines in the US. The aforementioned AVAs contain a whole pile of sub-AVAs, all of which I must eventually commit to memory.

The sub-AVAs of Napa Valley

  • Coombsville (est. 2011)
  • Calistoga
  • Diamond Mountain District
  • Spring Mountain District
  • St. Helena
  • Rutherford
  • Oakville
  • Stags Leap District
  • Mount Veeder
  • Yountville
  • Los Carneros (Carneros)
  • Wild Horse Valley
  • Oak Knoll District of Napa Valley
  • Atlas Peak
  • Chiles Valley
  • Howell Mountain

AVAs of Sonoma County

  • Los Carneros (Carneros)
  • Sonoma Valley
  • Sonoma Mountain
  • Bennett Valley
  • Sonoma Coast
  • Northern Sonoma
  • Russian River Valley
  • Green Valley of Russian River Valley
  • Chalk Hill
  • Dry Creek Valley
  • Rockpile
  • Alexander Valley
  • Knights Valley
  • Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak (est. 2011)
  • Fort Ross-Seaview (est. 2011)

AVAs of Mendocino County

  • Mendocino
  • Mendocino Ridge
  • Anderson Valley
  • Potter Valley
  • Redwood Valley
  • McDowell Valley
  • Yorkville Highlands
  • Dos Rios
  • Cole Ranch
  • Covelo
  • Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak (est. 2011)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: