ithinkaboutwine

This post is late.

In Uncategorized on May 6, 2012 at 6:47 pm

Well, week one of trying to write one post a day and I’m already behind. I’ll whip myself later. Right now I want to talk about the Camargue.

The Camargue is basically the Rhone river delta, a flat area with sandy soil where the Rhone dumps into the Mediterranean, just south of the town of Arles. The area is also well-known for their production of rice, the flamingos who make their home in the ponds of the Camargue national park, the beautiful horses that are raised in the area, and the prolific procreation of their mosquitoes.

There isn’t actually a whole lot of wine from this area, but those that I have tried I’ve always found respectable, modest, and fairly priced. Honestly, this area isn’t likely to figure into any major wine headlines, but it is a charming place, and it was the first thing to pop into my mind when I realized I’d fallen behind on my writing goal, so here we are.

Leave a Reply

