ithinkaboutwine

Now that’s what I call a classy move.

In Uncategorized on August 30, 2011 at 5:44 pm

So, I was researching some wines today, and came across a review from a wine writer whose name I won’t mention. The review started basically like this: (I’m paraphrasing just so I don’t get accused of copyright somethingorother) The owner of Mount Mary actively avoided having me review his wines, which are generally well-recieved by Australian wine writers, but I managed to get a hold of a few bottles. He then goes on to totally rag on the wine, scoring the one I was looking at 83 points. This move lacks any semblance of class or even credibility because he actually published it. Correct me if I’m wrong, but wine writers are not reporters, right? Their job isn’t to get to the bottom of anybody’s dirty laundry. Their job is to taste wine and talk about it. And given the fact that wine is infinitely subjective, if a winemaker says he doesn’t want a certain writer, or any writers publishing anything about their wine, the writers should respect that. The tone and content of this review basically says to me “Oh yeah, you think you can keep your wines out of my magazine? I’m The Dark Lord Robert Parker, and I’m the most powerful wine writer in the world, I’ll show you! Muahahahahahahahaha!”

Oops, I said his name.

Leave a Reply

