ithinkaboutwine

Walla Walla Trip. (Day 2)

In Washington on November 17, 2010 at 7:52 pm

 

Day 2 started at Seven Hills Winery, and I was very much looking forward to it, as I was not very familiar with their wines. First of all, they have a beautiful facility and tasting room in downtown Walla Walla, and I absolutely reccomend visiting them if you happen to be in town. My tasting notes follow:

09 Viognier – Nose of white peach, melon, and honeysuckle. Nice richness in the mid-palate, but I would have been glad of a bit more acidity in the finish.

08 Malbec – Pretty aromatics, pure fruit, very distinct sour cherry candy and rosemary. Aged in Hungarian oak.

09 Pinot Gris – Honey sorbet on the nose, juicy richness in the mid-palate, refreshing acidity.

09 Riesling – Smells like a candy necklace, juicy apples, honeydew and a hint of petrol.

08 Seven Hills Vineyard Merlot – Dusty blackberry nose, bright fruit up front, soft tannins, medium-length finish.

07 Seven Hill Vineyard Cabernet – Concentrated cassis and graphite on the nose, good structure, not overpowering, a little herbs and bell pepper stuff in the finish.

07 Klipsun Vineyard Cabernet – (One of my favorites.) Very distinctive violet, granola, and raw licorice in the nose, very balanced, just a little bit of old-world animal in the finish.

06 Pentad – (65% Cab, 14% Petit Verdot, 7% Carmenere, 7% Cab Franc, 7% Malbec) Toasted bread, cassis, red fruit, blueberry pie, a little mocha on the palate, great acidity here too.

07 Petit Verdot – (Another favorite.) Smells like cherries and perfume, tastes like tart cherries and licorice, marvelous acidity.

(So, I have tasting notes for more wines, but I keep leaving my notebook at home and forgetting to transcribe them, but I really wanted to get this post up, so I’m going to go ahead and put this up and add the tasting notes in later.)

From Seven Hills, we went to Dunham, where we tasted wines from Dunham, Syzygy, Tamarack Cellars, K Vintners, Rotie Cellars, and DaMa. First of all, the space at Dunham was beautiful and you should absolutely stop there if you find yourself in Walla Walla.

There were a number of wines that stood out to me, and when I remember to grab my notebook and finish this post, this is where those wines will be described.

Our last stop was at Abeja, where we had the chance to try the 2005 Abeja Chardonnay, as well as the 2002 Abeja Cabernet. I always love to try wines when they’ve been in the bottle a few years longer. I was particularly happy to try the older Chardonnay, since the oak on the Chard can be a bit overpowering for me when the wines are first released, but the 05 had balanced out beautifully, and seemed to have plenty of aging potential left.

All in all, I found no shortage of very impressive wines on this trip, and given how close it is to home, I absolutely recommend that anybody from Boise who’s interested in wine take the time to take a trip to Walla Walla.

Leave a Reply

