ithinkaboutwine

Pinot Noir Blind Tasting Day!!

In California Wine, Pinot Noir on November 9, 2010 at 9:16 pm

image

Thanksgiving day is nigh which, besides meaning that I need to double my cardio time at the gym for the next two weeks to offset the damage sure to be done by my dad’s turkey and whatever my brother is planning, also means it’s time to pick some inexpensive Pinot Noirs for a pre-Thanksgiving display in the shop.

Pinot Noir is a classic pairing for thanksgiving dinner, but finding a good, reasonably priced one is often an uphill battle. That being the case, we sat down with 31 different Pinots that all retail under $20, and tasted through them all blind. 6 staff members tasted and ranked the wines, and while there was some disparity, we reached a fairly democratic conclusion, and settled on 6 wines to put on display for Thanksgiving. I’m not done entering all the data, so I can’t list the winners right now, I will update later.

I’m also going to take this moment to get back up on my high horse about the fact (that’s right, I’m calling it a fact now. When you say an opinion enough times it becomes solid fact. I learned it from Fox News) that dry rosé is one of the most perfect and versatile wines in the world. Yes, it’s also fantastic for thanksgiving. As a general rule I don’t serve it quite as cold as I do in the summertime, and when allowed to warm just a bit, dry rosé drinks more like a super-light, elegant, high acid red wine. The higher acidity makes it great for food pairing, and the light body makes sure it won’t overpower your turkey, stuffing, or cranberries. I’ve got a bottle of 2009 Corbillieres Touraine Pinot Noir Rosé, and a bottle of 2009 Frederic Magnien Bourgogne Pinot Noir Rosé that will definitely be making an appearance on my Thanksgiving table.

Leave a Reply

