ithinkaboutwine

2007 Marco Cecchini Tove

In Italian White on January 11, 2010 at 4:29 am

I’ve been a big fan of this wine for a long time, but this was the first time I’d had it in a while, and the first time I’ve tried this vintage. Having started my wine education at inoteca, I have a deep and abiding love for obscure Italian wines in general.

The Cecchini Tove is a blend of the grape formerly known as Tocai (now called Friuliano) and Verduzzo, both grapes rarely found outside their native Friuli, in northeastern Italy. I drank this tonight with pasta; linguine with shrimp and onions in a  white wine reduction. The wine worked fantastically well with the food, and I’m still enjoying the last of it on it’s own. The nose is very expressive, with orange, lemon, grapefruit, pineapple, and huckleberry. It’s medium-bodied in the mouth, with fleshy citrus and great acidity.

This is one of those wines that makes me wish the general public respected white wines as much as they do red wines. Working in retail, I see pretty consistently that most people are willing to spend about two thirds to half as much on white wines as they’re willing to spend on reds. This Tove retails right about $20, and in my opinion is quite thoroughly worth it, but I know for certain that I would have an easier time selling a red wine that nobody’s ever heard of for the same price.

If you’re looking for a white around $20 that’s new and interesting, I absolutely recommend this wine.

  1. Can’t buy it in the state of NY
    Horrors!
    What importer bring this little treasure in, Mr. I Think?

    love the new site!

    • T Edward Wines brings it in and they’re based in NY, you should definitely be able to find it in the state. Their office number is 212-233-0984, they should be able to tell you what retailers carry it.

Leave a Reply

